Short rant: Being black in the UK

In some spaces in the UK, BEING BLACK IS MY SIN

Being black makes me suspicious

Being black deprives me of access

Being black means I have to explain myself all the damn time

Being black means I’m lesser than I should be!

Being black is my sin

Before you say ‘not all…’, ‘sometimes it’s not about race…’

I am not dumb. I know racism when I see it and experience it.

Stop complicating things and wrapping them in academic jargon

Stop telling me I’m imagining things

Stop telling me not to take it personal

‘If you step on my toe and I tell you it hurts, you don’t get to determine how much it hurts!’

Stop telling me ‘my truth is subjective’

When you are immersed in privilege and have never walked in my shoes.

Being black is my sin.

Every encounter of racism hurts!

It doesn’t matter how many times I have gone through it.

It means a journey back to the mirror to affirm to myself that I matter.

That my skin colour doesn’t mean I am lesser.

Until another encounter when being black is my sin

Again.

 

Leave a comment